July 19,1975 (sad day for our family!)

Was a day that totally changed our lives!

Rudy had just gotten out of the Army on 7-8-75, we were still unpacking from our move from Ft. Lewis, WA back home to Cottonwood, CA.

Mona was 3 years old, Gina and Nee’ were 8 months old and I was  about between 28 – 32 weeks along in another pregnancy. (The doctors and Madigan Med Ctr, Tacoma, WA kept changing my due date , back and forth from Oct. to Sept.)

On the night of 7-18-1970, I woke up about 2 am and was hemorrhaging. Rudy rushed me to the hospital, after dropping the girls off at my parent’s house. The next morning when they did emergency caesarean, Rachelle Dawn Morris arrived, weighing 1 lb 5 1/2 ozs. They never measured her length. She was flown from Redding, CA to San Francisco, CA. She only lived 9 hours 29 minutes. I never got to see her, only Rudy and my Mom saw her before they flew her to Mt Zion Hospital.

The girls grew up knowing their baby sister had passed away right after she was born.

We have no pics of Rachelle, only a very primitive ultrasound and cannot see much of anything in it. Ultrasounds sure have improved over the years!

Rachelle, we miss you so much!

About Grandmomof7

I’ve been Stay At Home Wife & Mom for 40 years. then in Dec. 2011 I became a widow when GBM-4 Brain Cancer took Rudy from me. We raised 3 daughters (our 4th daughter in heaven) and have 7 grandkids. Originally from Northern California, but have lived in Eastern Washington since 1981. I do allot of crafts, such as sewing, crochet, cross stitch, baking, cake decorating, scrapbooking, paper crafting and family genealogy. In June 2014, I became a caregiver again, this time with my Mom. Mom passed away on Dec. 30, 2014.
This entry was posted in Birthdays, Life as I know it!. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to July 19,1975 (sad day for our family!)

  1. amie says:

    Awww, how sad yet sweet of you to always remember. Must have been so hard to get through!

  2. Grandmom says:

    Thank you, Amie. Yes, it’s been very hard through the years. As the years go by, it doesn’t get any easier.

  3. Gina says:

    I thought about you all day yesterday Mom, wish I was home to have been able to spend some time with you.

  4. Grandmom says:

    To make the day even worse, being stopped for the first time EVER by the WR cop, made my day even worse! Good thing he didn’t give me a ticket!
    Stupid Bombing Range Hill!

Leave a Reply

