New cake recipe!

Jakob brought home from school a new cake recipe he has wanted me to make for him all summer. We had to wait for ripe tomatoes to be able to be picked and we finally have some from their garden.

They brought some over and this morning I pureed some for the cake recipe.

The name of the recipe is: My Grandma’s Thunder Cake

It’s actually a chocolate cake, we’ll see if they all like eating it.

Recipe:

My Grandma’s Thunder Cake

Cream together, one at a time:

1 cup shortening

1/1/2 cup sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

3 eggs, separated (Blend yolks in. Beat egg whites until they are stiff, then fold in.)

1 cup cold water

1/3 cup pureed tomatoes

Sift together:

2 1/2 cups cake flour

1/2 cup dry cocoa

1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon salt.

Mix dry mixture into cream mixture.

Bake in two greased and floured 8 1/2 inch round pans at 350 for 35-40 minutes.

Frost with Chocolate Buttercream Frosting.

Top with Strawberries (I didn’t have any strawberries.)

About Grandmomof7

I’ve been Stay At Home Wife & Mom for 40 years. then in Dec. 2011 I became a widow when GBM-4 Brain Cancer took Rudy from me. We raised 3 daughters (our 4th daughter in heaven) and have 7 grandkids. Originally from Northern California, but have lived in Eastern Washington since 1981. I do allot of crafts, such as sewing, crochet, cross stitch, baking, cake decorating, scrapbooking, paper crafting and family genealogy. In June 2014, I became a caregiver again, this time with my Mom. Mom passed away on Dec. 30, 2014.
This entry was posted in Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New cake recipe!

  1. reneemorrisdezember says:

    …it looks yummy mom!

  2. grandmomof7 says:

    Cake was a little dry compared to my usual cakes, 😦

    Jakob didn’t even try a piece of it either!

Leave a Reply

